8th International Conference on Energy & Environment of Residential Buildings

In 2018 the 8th International Conference on Energy and Environment of Residential Buildings comes to Wellington, New Zealand, with an overarching theme of housing sustainability in urban areas.

Date: 19th – 21st November 2018
Venue: (tbc) Wellington, New Zealand

8th International Conference on Energy and Environment of Residential Buildings
Urban Environments: Energy, Housing and Health

Energy efficient housing is an essential component of urban initiatives to mitigate carbon emissions. With urbanisation increasing rapidly (almost 60% of the world’s population will live in urban areas by 2030), and climate change posing a serious challenge, it is imperative that the sustainability of new and existing urban housing is optimised, not only to cut emissions but to also improve the health of residents, increase liveability and well-being, optimise urban spaces, and ensure that residential buildings and the natural ecosystems that support urban environments are able to coexist. The UN’s Sustainable Development Goals include Goal 11: Make cities inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable, and Goal 13: Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts. What role does residential building play in meeting these goals by 2030?

Conference topics include:
– Urban design
– Housing and health
– Housing and Energy
– Upgrading existing housing
– Housing and climate change mitigation
– The Sustainable Development Goals and housing

Abstracts will be considered from a wide range of themes that address the broad focus of this conference. The conference is an exciting opportunity to exchange research ideas, to engage with industry and government, and to envision what a sustainable urban future will be for housing.

For more information, please contact emily.bentley@otago.ac.nz